“I am God”

1

December 14, 2011 by Dwight Bernier

A few summers ago, I met a homeless man downtown who told me that he was Jesus Christ. We had an interesting conversation which led to many others. We developed a friendship where I would just stop by and talk whenever I was in the area and I always looked forward to our conversations. He never called himself Jesus after that first encounter, but I never actually knew his real name. His street name was “Superman” and he was a father-like figure to many of the street youth.

Last night, I spoke to one of my friends and he was telling me about his boss, who calls himself God. This man is not a homeless, delusional thinker. Rather, this is someone that has found a small ounce of power in his little pond of influence, and has perceived this to be God-like. My friend told me that this man will announce “God is speaking” before he talks.

Unfortunately, this is many of us. We just aren’t bold enough to declare it. Many of us wouldn’t think that we are THE God, but at least we are little gods. We think that things exist for our glory and our benefit.

As my friend was telling me about his boss, I was reminded of a chapter in G.K. Chesterton’s book, Orthodoxy, entitled “The Maniac”. Here is an excerpt:

“So you are the Creator and Redeemer of the world: but what a small world it must be! What a little heaven you must inhabit, with angels no bigger than butterflies! How sad it must be to be God; and an inadequate God! Is there really no life fuller and no love more marvelous than yours; and is it really in your small and painful pity that all flesh must put its faith? How much happier you would be, how much more of you there would be, if the hammer of a higher God could smash your small cosmos, scattering the stars like spangles, and leave you in the open, free like other men to look up, as well as down!”

How beautiful the gospel is – that shatters our dreams of ever being God, but shows us God, who came to earth not to lord or wield his power over us, but rather to die in our place, for our sick and twisted hearts, so that we can have new hearts that worship Him and bring us into God’s family. Repent from trying to be God and enjoy Him.

One thought on ““I am God”

  1. Sheila Long says:

    Oh wow! Thanks for that sobering reminder! How ensnaring is the trap I fall into in “building my own little kingdom” instead of His. How freeing it is to be reminded of our own futility and God’s tremendous power and grace in our lives!
    Thank you brother.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 262 other followers

Categories

Uncategorized
